Autumn at Grasmere Lake

As we seem to be experiencing an Indian Summer in Grasmere at the moment, the temptation is to get up and out as early as possible for a walk before the crowds descend. That was my plan this morning, however it seemed I was not alone in that idea.

Sunrise at Grasmere Lake

As I came round Penny Rock to walk round the Lake there on the shore were a literal row of photographers (what do you call a collection of photographers? In this case a negative seems appropriate).

Early morning Grasmere Lake

Now if anything is going to make me self concious its a row of tripods with high tech cameras while I “point and shoot” with my little Cannon Ixus 850.

Grasmere Lake

Plenty of room for all of us though so decided to head up Loughrigg Terrace for a higher view point, and you know I never saw another soul from then on.

Looking towards Rydal

Looking to the left, Rydal came into view. Every valley has it’s own little micro climate and Rydal had it’s own little cloud above it.

Towards Rydal

The sun was up now and I had reached the top of the terrace. What a view, glad I had my flask with me. Can’t beat the first coffee of the day on top of a hill!.

Grasmere Lake from Loughrigg Terrace

Now I am going to get a bit poetic here. I love to read “The Grasmere Journals” written by Dorothy Wordsworth when she lived at Dove Cottage in Grasmere. Today’s entry for 11th October 1800 says “The colours of the mountains soft and rich, with orange fern”. And that describes the scene perfectly.

Autumnal Grasmere Lake

A final look at the view and time to head downhill, still thinking about Dorothy Wordsworth and her Journals.

Towards Dunmail Raise

On 12th October 1800 she wrote ” Beautiful Day. We walked before tea to observe the many coloured foliage the oaks dark green with yellow leaves – The birches generally still green, some near the water yellowish. The sycamore crimson & crimson tufted – the mountain ash a deep orange – the common ash Lemon colour but many ashes still fresh in their summer green”.

Grasmere Lake

It was still only 8am and when I got back down to the shore there wasn’t a soul about, the lake was all mine again.

Autumn at Grasmere Lake

Peace perfect Peace.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

